Have You Been Arrested for DUI in Santa Cruz County? Then, you need a Santa Cruz DUI lawyer who exclusively handles DUI cases.
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious charge in California. Generally, if a driver is found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater, or to be under the influence of a drug, prescription or over the counter, he or she will be arrested and charged with DUI. DUI charges are serious and complex. When an individual is charged with DUI in Santa Cruz, it is important to understand that a conviction will lead to both administrative (DMV) and criminal penalties.
If you have been arrested for DUI in Santa Cruz County, you have only 10 days to request a DMV administrative hearing. An administrative hearing gives a driver the opportunity to dispute his or her automatic license suspension. The 10-day policy is strict. If a driver fails to request a DMV administrative hearing within the allotted 10 days, he or she will have forfeited the right to a hearing and their license will be suspended.
The criminal component of a person's charges begins with the arraignment. The location of Santa Cruz Superior Court is 701 Ocean Street in the city of Santa Cruz. An experienced and local DUI defense attorney can help to explain a driver's rights and responsibilities after a DUI arrest.
Phillip Crawford has worked on DUI cases in Santa Cruz, Monterey and San Luis Obispo Counties for over eleven years. He understands the severity of DUI as well as other criminal charges and will work with you to create a cunning defense in order to achieve the best possible outcome for your specific case.
Implied Consent Law in California
The state of California follows an implied consent law. This means that when a driver is stopped under suspicion of DUI, he or she is expected to submit to chemical testing in order to determine the driver's BAC. Per this law, a driver in California consents to these tests when he or she obtains a state driver's license and uses California roadways. If a driver refuses the post-arrest chemical test, he or she will faces a loss of their driver's license for, at minimum, one year.
DUI Charges & Penalties in Santa Cruz County
DUI charges and penalties will vary depending on the severity of the DUI offense and whether a driver has previously been convicted of DUI. However, DUI convictions will generally involve the following penalties:
- Jail or Prison Time;
- Alcohol/DUI Education Classes;
- Community Service;
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device;
- Increased Auto Insurance Costs; and
- Suspended or Revoked Driver's License.
Consult with an Exclusive DUI Attorney Today
DUI charges can lead to serious and expensive consequences and it is therefore in your best interest to work with an experienced and respected DUI attorney in Santa Cruz. If you have been charged with DUI in Santa Cruz County contact Phillip Crawford and schedule a free consultation. To schedule your consultation, please call (831) 204-0773. Or, schedule your appointment here:Meet with Phillip Crawford